immortal past

Far more worse than the screaming is the silence followed by it. This is the worst!

Fearsome silence. Something I´ll never forget, cause it burns itself into me. All actions stop. They simply…stop. On the inside and the outside.

Unbearable density growing into a solid atmosphere, muffling  my breathing, blurring my vision, crawling under my skin, making it frizzle. A contagious silence of terror infects my body and soul. The  smell of sulphur and smoke. Smell of blood. Hell could have opened up and breathed out, but hasn´t. Humans have done this.

Lives ended. Humans have gone, never to return.

Exhale!

Inhale!

Exhale!

My heart keeps beating. Beating desperate into the silence around me.

Battle drums… Feeling the earth move again. Battle drums. Moments bursting into motion… Louder, louder. LOUDER.

No. This is different! It´s not drums. It´s the sound of a hovering armed helicopter, with singing rotor blades, that I hear.

Ready to fire again. Ready to cut the string of time woven into me.

Ready to crash into the bridge. Ready to bring an end to my world.

One moment. The helicopters motor is gearing up. The downdraft hitting me. Knocking me over. Inhale!

Just breath!

Survive!

No matter what!

2 thoughts on “immortal past

Leave a Reply

