tavern angel

sun goes down on a sorry day

music crawls under my ache

blue smoke fills all dull taverns

waiting for some old crooks

to spill beer and blood.

I’m worse, than I’ve ever been;

you make me forget, the shape I’m in

my beautiful angel are you proud?

dirt covered illusions in a rusting heart

you have to pull me out of this mud

hands down on a floor full of smithers

bit my tongue, to your copper taste

I’d die smashed in your arms tonight

your  sweetness’ feels right

your eyes poised and ready

to finish me off with a bitter laugh

Leave a Reply

