Possibility of Life in the Solar System

Definitely a keeper! My favorite was Europa, Enceladus is a super addition to Team: Life!Maybe.

I Read Encyclopedias for Fun

Earlier today, I posted a poll about where life could exist in the solar system.  It seems Mars is quite popular. You can still vote in the poll with your answer.  But now, I’ll examine each of the worlds and you can see what I think.  Keep in mind that I am an expert.  Okay, not an expert, but I do have a degree in astronomy.  So it is my area of expertise.

Mars

Mars_23_aug_2003_hubbleMars is the best-known planet in the solar system other than Earth.  We’ve had many probes go there, rovers explore the surface, and it’s one of the easiest to observe from Earth.  It’s a cold, dry world with most of its water locked up in the polar ice caps or underground.  There has been evidence of sudden outflows of liquid water, though it couldn’t last long on the surface, but maybe there are aquifers.  There are…

View original post 651 more words

3 thoughts on “Possibility of Life in the Solar System

    1. I’ve always imagined extraterrestrial life there, (I mean humans, as colonization) as an underwater colony harvesting tidal energy and researching, how to jump start up a magnetosphere. That kind of stuff…

      Like

Leave a Reply

