A starving human doesn’t need freedom.

SHe craves clean water and healthy food.

A dumb human doesn’t need freedom.

SHe craves guidance and entertainment.

A homeless human doesn’t need freedom.

SHe craves safety and protection.

A sick human doesn’t need freedom.

SHe craves care and medicine.

An old human doesn’t need freedom.

SHe craves a legacy, a meaningful task.

A poor human doesn’t need freedom.

SHe craves integrity and power.

Bear with me, cause these chains keep me captive,

for their sheer thought keeps me struggling

that I do not notice, how empty

my life has become.

*

Disobedience and resilience are the shadows

that freedom casts in an unjust environment.

Dancing in the light of a bonfire called riot,

distorted shapes of giddy and childish ways

This is no civil BBQ to feed the angry masses

It’s not marshmallows that roast in the fire,

just stacks of colored -mostly green- paper slips.

Broken promises, outdated ideas wither to ash.

On the pile of useless things I didn’t need

Ripped from my daily life, the spoiled seeds

fall into the bloody mud of war or revolution.

Deny the greed, I deny myself captivity.

Come on, pretend you haven’t been sleeping,

 you haven’t been an inhumane joke!


3 thoughts on “what does a human need?

    1. Thanks 🙂
      – for you, alternative verses: A lonely (hu)man doesn’t need freedom. (S)He craves intimacy and understanding.
      Keep yanking the chains of your captivity, till you find freedom and truth. 😉

      Like

Leave a comment